Subscribe Now


The New England Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture and Art (ICAA) is pleased to announce the 2018 Bulfinch Awards, which recognizes practitioners from across the nation who are committed to promoting excellence in the classical tradition and allied arts within New England. The Call for Entries for the 2018 Bulfinch Awards competition will be December 15, 2017.

All eligible projects work toward building upon the legacy of Boston’s early Federal architect, Charles Bulfinch, who is widely regarded to be the first native-born American to work in the field professionally. Initiated in 2010 and modeled on the ICAA’s Arthur Ross Awards, the New England Bulfinch Awards program is an annual competition.

The ICAA’s mission remains to serve classical architecture and its associated arts, and their practitioners. The Bulfinch Awards are part of a comprehensive effort through education, lectures, tours, and advocacy to raise public awareness of classical and traditional work as a superlative way to design public and private places.

This year’s Bulfinch Awards reception/dinner/ceremony gala will be held in Harvard Hall at the Peabody & Stearns-designed Harvard Club, 374 Commonwealth Avenue in Boston, on Saturday, April 28, 2018. The judges for the 2018 Bulfinch Awards are Marc Appleton, Thomas Pheasant and Greg Tankersley.

The Bulfinch weekend’s keynote lecture will be delivered by Aric Lasher, President and Director of Design at HBRA Architects in Chicago, where his projects include buildings for government, cultural, academic and public institutions, residential projects, landscapes, renovations and restorations of historic structures. The morning lecturer is Christine G.H. Franck, the founding Director of the Center for Advanced Research in Traditional Architecture (CARTA) at the University of Colorado Denver College of Architecture & Planning, designer, educator, and author.

For more information about the 2018 Bulfinch Awards, visit For sponsorship information and general Bulfinch Awards information contact Chapter Director, Sarah Macdonald at or 617-913-2277.